Republica – The Protest for a Spanish Republic in Valenica

As I type this, outside my hotel room window I hear the chants of people from Valencia, Spain, urging the government to change from a Monarchy to a Republic, with the abducation of King Juan Carlos I a few days ago. This region of Spain, known as Catalonia, has long felt that they are a unique region within Spain, with their own language. With the King stepping down, the push to be a Republic, and possibly more in the future is on the minds of the protesters. Below are a few pictures and videos I took outside on the street. It is all in Spanish, and if you cannot speak Spanish, you can at least feel the energy of the crowd. The things you can experience as a traveller!

People gathering in front of government building

People gathering in front of government building

