Try Tofu Shirataki Noodles for Your Next Meal

It is estimated that approximately 1 in 6 people have some level of gluten sensitivity. Gluten is the substance in wheat flour that gives bread it’s elasticity.  Celiacs are people who cannot tolerate gluten at all, but for the gluten sensitive people, we can eat food, like a sandwich, but the gluten can cause us to get heartburn or patchy red skin, or other ailments.  While not life threatening, it feels better when you do not have to worry about eating a meal and wondering if there is a gluten-based product.

Pasta or noodle dishes are popular with most people, but most noodles are based on wheat.  There are some noodles made from rice or bean thread, but I recently became aware of a new product for me called “Tofu Shirataki” by House Foods.  Tofu Shirataki is a pasta alternative made by blending the flour of the Konnyaku – a member of the Asian yam family (also known as Konjac) with tofu.  I visited my local Choices Market and picked up a package of the Tofu Shirataki spaghetti style noodles to try in a Chinese stir fry.  I received a coupon for these noodles.  Beside the spaghetti shape, there is also fettuccine, angel hair and macaroni shaped noodles too.

The package of noodles come in a sealed package that is filled with water.  Opening the noodles, the instructions are to rinse them in water, then to boil them 2-3 minutes as use just like pasta, or if you are going to use them in a stir fry, to rinse them, then add them to the stir fry.  The 226 gram package I think is enough for 1 hungry person, or two people with regular sized appetites to share for their meal.

Tofu Shirataki spaghetti

Tofu Shirataki spaghetti

To my stir fry I added chopped vegetables, and condiments of sesame oil, ground ginger, vinegar, soy sauce and black bean sauce.  I placed the noodles on top of the cooking vegetables and let things simmer for a few minutes.  The noodles are not fragile so it was easy to stir them into the vegetables and not worry that they would fall apart.

Into my bowl, I sampled some of these now seasoned noodles and was very pleasantly surprised.  The noodles did not stick together like you can get from wheat-based noodles.  When I bit into the noodle, there was some firmness, similar to al dente pasta.  I really enjoyed the texture of the noodles.  There was also no sour taste that you can get from tofu on it’s own.  I doubt most people could tell that they were not eating a wheat-based noodle.

Tofu Shirataki spaghetti in stir fry

Tofu Shirataki spaghetti in stir fry

I feel comfortable recommending these noodles to anybody to try.  I will buy these as well myself in the future for my meals.  Enjoy!

 

