My New Year’s Resolution for 2013 – C’est le français

Moules au camembert

Moules au camembert

I’m pretty good at keeping New Year’s resolutions.  Some that I have made that I’ve kept have been to exercise regularly, and to have a glass of wine a day if possible.  Both are good for your health.

For 2013, my resolution, or maybe better described as a “goal” is to visit monthly at least 1 French restaurant  located here in the Vancouver lower mainland that I can in 2013, and to blog about it.

Why French Restaurants?

I’ve travelled twice to France and have fallen in love with their food.  Probably the best meal in my life was in a small restaurant in Chenonceau located in the Loire Valley. In addition, I have been a lover of French wine, in particular Burgundy and Loire wines.  So visiting French restaurants and enjoying my meal with French wine, seems like a perfect pairing to me! How does that sound to you?

 

Coq au vin served with a glass of Bordeaux wine

Coq au vin served with a glass of Bordeaux wine

The restaurants that are currently on my to visit list are:

  • Le Gavroche
  • Le Bistro Chez Michel
  • The French Table
  • Les Faux Bourgeois
  • Jules Bistro
  • Bistro Pastis
  • Le Crocodile
  • Le Parisien

As you can see I have 8 listed.  That leaves room for 4 restaurants which you can suggest for me to visit.  Please post your comment as to which additional French restuarant I should visit and what is your favourite dish from that restaurant.  Merci Beaucoup and Bonne Année et Bonne Santé!

