My Experience with Alta Bistro Concierge Menu $19 for 3 courses

On a recent trip up to Whistler, I stopped at Alta Bistro, at the recommendation of Cassandra Anderton aka @goodlifevancouver. I checked their website and saw that they have a Concierge 3 course menu for $19.  The food overall is very good in my opinion.  The dishes have a French flair to them, but still left me a little hungry at the end of the meal.  My 3 courses were:

  • Oysters of the Day – 3 local oysters, served with verjus granite (+ $2 for this course)
  • Fresh Goats Cheese and Buttermilk Mousse – Squamish honey and toasted nut vinaigrette, house made lavash bread, golden beets
  • Pan Seared Yarrow Meadows Duck Breast – Textures of Heirloom carrots, Meyer lemon vinaigrette & lemon balm

Alta Bistro oysters, goats cheese buttermilk mousse, and Yarrow Meadows Duck breast

I think the oysters that evening were from Stellar Bay.  Maybe someone looking at the picture can tell me for sure which variety of oyster I enjoyed.  The oysters were plump and had a nice sea brine flavour.

My favourite dish, and the most creative was the fresh goats cheese and buttermilk mousse. Lots of flavours and texture.  The mousse had a healthy dose of citrus.

The duck breast was done to perfection.  Nicely pink, but I wish there was more than the 4 small cubes.

My glass of wine that I paired with these 3 courses was the Joie Farm, A Noble Blend 2011, a white wine blend of Riesling, Gewurztraminer, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Auxerrios, and Schoenberger. Very aromatic and nice round mouthfeel.  Lychee, flowers, and citrus flavours.  A nice wine, and a nice pairing.

Overall I’d recommend going to Alta Bistro as their food is executed very nicely, but maybe do not go there if you are overly hungry.

