A Tasty Dineout Vancouver Dinner at Cru

Angus Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio

It was a very tasty evening at Cru Restaurant on Broadway. I spent this evening chatting with Dianne Chow and her friend S. Sharing food and talking about things big and small. I’ve eaten at Cru during non Dineout Vancouver events, and was treated to wonderful food. This is the first time for me at Dineout Vancouver.

My meal was:

  • Angus Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio, with truffle aioli, shaved parmesan and caperberries appetizer
  • Natural Pork Tenderloin, with caramelized apples, curry and raisin couscous, grainy dijon jus main course
  • Chocolate and Cardamom Pannacotta, with stewed dried fruit, hazelnut sable dessert

To accompany all of our dishes we selected a bottle of Blasted Church Merlot.  I thought a juicy, soft merlot would go well with my carpaccio, pork tenderloin, as well as the duck breast for Dianne.  It was as expected.  Very juicy ripe fruit, soft tannins, and went well with the dishes.

Natural Pork Tenderloin

I think my favourite dish was the Angus Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio.  Such thin slices of beef, very tender topped with tiny crystals of salt, some garlickiness, and sharpness from the Parmesan cheese.

The main course, the pork tenderloin was cooked with a slight pinkness left.  Went nicely with the caramelized apples.

The panacotta was decandent without being heavy.  I had a cup of Americano with it.  The hazelnut sable dessert (think a shortbread type cookie) went nicely with the coffee.

Chocolate and Cardamom Pannacotta

I also had a chance to try some of Dianne’s duck breast main course (it doesn’t show up in the Dineout Vancouver menu online, but is there at the restaurant).  It was very full flavoured, the fat under the skin giving added richness and complemented the juicy Blasted Church Merlot.

Enjoy Dineout Vancouver!

