A Niche Wine – A Rose from the Okanagan and More

Niche Wine Co Rose 2010

Have you heard of Niche Wine Co?  Me neither, until very recently.  There are many new wineries sprouting up here in British Columbia.  Niche’s Head Office is in Vancouver, and their winery in Kelowna.  James and Joanna Schlosser are the owners. They are farm folk and love to make wine. You can find their winery high on a ridge in West Kelowna.  All the grapes for the wine come from their vineyard, so very much a boutique winery. They currently are producing a rose and a Pinot Blanc.  And I am told a Pinot Noir is on the way.

Today I am trying their Niche Wine Co. Rose 2010. It is a blend of 59% Pinot Noir, 28% Riesling, and 13% Chardonnay. Very pale salmon in colour.  Ripe tropical fruit, strawberries and red cherry aromas. Round, and soft mouth feel.  Medium body with more red cherries and strawberry flavour.  Medium plus acidity makes this a refreshing rose. Medium length with apples on the finish.  I think the Chardonnay and Riesling add a bit of complexity to this rose.  I don’t normally for example, think of tropical fruit when I taste a rose.

A decent first attempt. I am curious to taste their Pinot Noir when it is released.  I am one of the many Pinot lovers here in Vancouver.

James and Joanna also recommend this Citrus Strawberry Salad Recipe to go with their Rose.

Enjoy!

One thought on “A Niche Wine – A Rose from the Okanagan and More

  1. Pingback: My Taste Impressions of Niche Wines Pinot Noir and Foch « Wine With Karl at MyWinePal

Comments are closed.