Okanagan’s Perseus Winery

I recently learned about the Perseus winery located in the South Okanagan. Perseus was founded in 2009 and originally known as Synergy Winery & Vineyards, located  in Penticton, BC. In 2011, three long-time friends—Rob Ingram, Sam Elia, Bob Hole—acquired the winery through their company, Terrabella, and joined forces with the three founding owners and other expert wine-industry consultants to bring high quality, expressive wines from the vineyard to their urban winery setting.  I have not yet had a chance to try their wines, or visit their winery, so both these things are on my to-do list this summer. <NOTE: Subsequent to this article, I did have a chance to try their wines.  Here is my review one of Perseus’ wines.>

The logo for their winery is the constellation Perseus.   According to Greek mythology “Born to Jupiter and Danae, Perseus was one of the most courageous warriors in the Greek mythology. His claim to fame was slaying gorgon Medusa, one of the three gorgon sisters who had the power to turn anyone who saw them into a stone. Perseus achieved this feat with a bit of help from Pluto; who gave him the helmet of invisibility, Mercury; who gave him his winged sandals and Minerva; who gave him her powerful shield. The helmet of invisibility and the winged sandals ensured that Perseus reached close to Medusa without getting noticed, while the shield acted as a mirror in which he saw Medusa while delivering the lethal blow. This heroic act earned Perseus a place in the stars, and thus came into existence the constellation of Perseus.” from Buzzle.com.

What wines does Perseus produce?

Being in the hotter, South Okanagan, if you guessed primarily red wines, you would be correct, but they do have some white wine too.  Their 2 white wines are: Pinot Grigio 2009 and Sauvignon Blanc 2009.  On the red side they have: Merlot 2009, Shiraz Cabernet 2009, and an Invictus 2008 blend.  Invictus is a Bordeaux blend comprised of 50% Cabernet Sauvignon, 21% Cabernet Franc, 16% Merlot, 8% Malbec, and 5% Petit Verdot.  I am not sure if poetry influenced their naming of this wine, but Invictus is quite a famous poem written by William Ernest Henley.  It’s brief, so I have it here for you:

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

They have 3 vineyards to produce the grapes for their wines.  Their Blind Creek Vineyard bridges the two towns of Keremeous and Cawston in the Similkameen valley.  I read that they also planted whites including Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris, here, and are most excited by the establishment of the Rhone varieties: Viognier, Roussane and Marsanne.  I too am a Rhone lover so look forward to tasting these wines once the vines are producing grapes. Their Old Station Vineyard overlooks Skaha Lake in the Okanagan Valley our vineyard and sits between the city of Penticton and the Town of Okanagan Falls. Their last vineyard, Lower Bench Vineyard,  you will see when you visit their tasting room and wine shop in the Okanagan valley. It is a 2 minute drive from Penticton on the Bench to Naramata.

If you have visited Perseus winery, please comment in the blog and let me know what you think of their wines.  I am very interested in getting some info.  Cheers!

One thought on “Okanagan’s Perseus Winery

  1. Pingback: Naramata Bench 2011 Spring Wine Release Reviews « Wine With Karl at MyWinePal

Comments are closed.