Remember to Toast for Remembrance Day

November 11 is coming up soon. It is a day that I try to commemorate in some way. When I was a teen I was in Air Cadets.  Every Remembrance Day, I woke up early, put on my cadet uniform, marched to the cenotaph and stood in the cold watching the veterans as they remembered the war, and listened to the commemorations to them all.  It was very touching to me, and I’ve never forgotten it.

Now I observe at least a moment of silence, and when I can, to visit a cenotaph and pay my respects, side-by-side with the dwindling number of veterans. I enjoy my freedom thanks to them and what they had to endure and to witness. So if you can, I hope you have a chance to do something special on Remembrance Day. With this I’d like to propose a toast to our veterans, so that we never forget what they have done for us.

