A University of Alberta Alumni Getogether at River’s Bend Winery

I’m a University of Alberta graduate. It was a while ago, and I keep getting invites to alumni events, but never joined in until yesterday. The alumni were getting together at River’s Bend Winery in Surrey, BC. As I love wine, I was compelled to join. It was quite easy to find the winery (15560 Colebrook Road). I’ve attached a Google map for you.
View Rivers Bend Map

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the alumni were friendly and I hope to meet some again soon to talk about wine.

Most of the grapes come from their estate in Surrey. I checked out the grapes. Some of their red grapes were starting to turn red (they are originally green btw). This process is known as veraison. There’s a good Scrabble word.

So how were the wines at River’s Bend Winery? Well, they have a gamut of wines: white, red, blush, and dessert. Of the white wines, I think my favorite was their Viognier 2007 ($20). The grapes come from Oliver. It was watery lemon in colour, with perfumy, apple, lychee, and peach aromas. Light in body, with apple, peach and some spice. Medium length. Also notable was their Pinot Gris 2008 ($19). This one had a slightly herbal nose, with some peach and oak. Medium body, slightly round mouth feel, with peachy flavour.

On the reds, I preferred their Merlot/Cabernet 2007 ($22). This one was also made with grapes from Oliver. I was told it has recently won a Silver Medal from the Northwest Wine Summit. Congratulations. This is a blend of 62% Merlot, 18% Cabernet Franc, and 20% Cabernet Sauvignon. Very dark garnet in the glass. Cassis, cherry, and capsicum/cedar aromas. Medium body, not too dry, with cherry and a bit of spice. Nice.

If you are into dessert wines, you may want to try their Indigo, port style wine ($25). Medium garnet in colour. Oak, porty, chocolate nose. Medium body, with spicy, cherry, and blueberry flavours. Semi sweet. Went well with dark chocolate.

Not a bad trip. Only 30 minutes from central Burnaby. Drop by and give River’s Bend Winery a try.

Cheers.

